Plant of the Moment

I have a number of plants that I am in love with at the moment but the best has to be Solanum Crispum Glasnevin.

Now I will be the first one to admit, I don’t like Latin names and often they just confuse me, so I tend to just call this particular plant the Potato climber! It is suitable though as this climber is part of the potato family (Solanaceae), so you can get away with calling it the potato climber too!

This climber has to be one of my favorites as it puts on such a great flower display and seems to be in bloom from the start of May right through the summer until August or September. It is though a very vigorous grower so may need to be pruned from time to time to keep it under control.

I am a big fan of growing it up trees. In a friends garden in Howth, it grows extremely well up an old mature pear tree. Over the past year it has twisted its way up through the branches of the tree and now there is a great display of colour and flowers throughout the whole tree. From March there is the pale pinkish white flowers of the pear blossom in the tree and is then immediately followed by the vivid purple flowers of this great climber.

I have some mature apple trees in my own garden that have ivy growing up them at the moment. I plan to tackle the ivy this summer and replace it with a potato climber to get some great colour in this area of the garden.

Solanum crispum 'Glasnevin'

Solanum crispum ‘Glasnevin’

