A Trip Down Memory Lane

Last week I went to visit my aunt and uncle in county Meath. They live in my mum’s childhood home which is in the heart of the countryside just outside the town of Dunshaughlin. As a child I remember the long summer days I would spend down here with my grandmother. 

My Grandmothers house

My Grandmothers house

When I was young I use to love going down to visit her and playing out in the garden. Her garden always amazed me as it was so big compared to our typical terrace house garden. It was never the traditional country garden full of flower beds that you would expect. It was more a wild garden with tall trees and hedgerows on all sides and then a large meadow to the back of the house. To me though it was perfect and also the place where I became fascinated with wildflowers and plants. I always loved wandering around the garden and finding different plants and flowers. One of the utter highlights in the garden each year was when the Gooseberry bush would become weighed down with fruit to the point where I always thought the branches would simply break off.

The Road leading to the water pump near my grandmothers house

The Road leading to the water pump near my grandmothers house

Every time I visited I would find some excuse to walk down the road to the water pump. Although it was only about a ten minute walk down the road it felt like I was on an adventure for hours every time I went down to it. One of the best parts of the walk was in Spring when the roadsides became were awash with the pale yellow of wild primroses. It always amazed me how delicate and perfect each of the flowers were and how they appeared in such abundance amongst the grass.

The water pump I loved to visit as a child

The water pump I loved to visit as a child

Much to my delight they still appear each year like clockwork. Last week when I was down they had just began to open and the road sides have started to become speckled with the primrose yellow colour of my childhood. The trip down to the water pump has not changed that much, except for the addition of a new house and the questionable addition of a laurel hedge along a large stretch of the road.

Wild Primroses

Wild Primroses

