Beyond The Wild Garden visits the Burren

This weekend I got to spend two brilliant days in County Clare exploring the Burren and the fantastic plants it has to offer.

IMG_6479

My parents are spending a week traveling around Clare but my sister, myself and Lola headed down for the weekend for a short break to enjoy just a few of the many highlights the county has to offer. This marked Lola’s very first holiday and I think she enjoyed it!

I have always wanted to visit the Burren ever since I studied about the limestone pavements in geography class. That was about six years ago at this stage and I have to say they did not disappoint.

IMG_6694

I had a fantastic time exploring the winding country lanes and vast expanses of limestone. The one thing that amazed me was the sheer amount of plants and flowers that were dotted along  the sides of the road everywhere we travelled. Every square inch of the ground seemed to have some floral delight to look at.

Of course Clare does not just boast lovely winding roads and limestone pavements; it has some other fantastic highlights and reasons to visit. Sure what would a visit to Clare be without a visit to the Cliffs of Moher?! A wasted visit that is what!!

IMG_6711

It was fun being a tourist and visiting the cliffs … while taking copious amounts of photos with the cliffs in the background. For the plant lovers out there you can find some lovely wildflowers growing up over the visitor centre and along the walk up to the viewing platform.

IMG_6736

Another great visit I managed to squeeze in was to the Poulnabrone Dolmen. This was just down the road from where we stayed so we made a late evening visit to it and it was a fantastic place to visit as sun began to set.

IMG_6780

By far the most enjoyable part, for me anyway, was exploring the limestone pavement around it. There were some fantastic plants dotted throughout the cracks and gullies between the great slabs of rock.

The Burren may be well known for its stunning landscape but it also has a fantastic name for itself in the world of food and artisan products. There is an entire Burren Food Trail that will take you to some of the best places to eat in and visit around Clare.

While I didn’t have enough time to visit as many places as I wanted to, one place I did visit get to was the Burren Chocolatier. This is a must visit for chocolate lovers out there!

IMG_6592

Make sure to have a look at this short video I made about my trip to the Burren. Also keep an eye out for a post on my visit to the Burren Perfumery in the coming days.

