Beyond The Messy Kitchen – Rhubarb and Orange Cake

It is that time of year when houses become over run with rhubarb and that is exactly the situation I found myself in when my girlfriend Ciara gave me a bin bag full of rhubarb from her grandfathers vegetable patch.

Faced with a mountain of rhubarb I set out stewing some and then I decided to make a cake for after Sunday dinner. I have always been a fan of the combination of orange and rhubarb having always using the juice of an orange when I am roasting or stewing rhubarb. For me it is a great summery combination and I think works really well in this cake.

Rhubarb and Orange Cake

RhubarbAndOrangeCakeDavidCorscadden

Ingredients: 

For rhubarb mixture

  • 340g chopped rhubarb
  • 60g butter
  • zest of one orange
  • Juice of half an orange
  • 25g sugar

For batter

  • 300g plain flour
  • 2tsp baking powder
  • 200g butter (cut into cubes)
  • 2 eggs
  • 125ml milk

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 190c
  2. Wash and cut the rhubarb into equal sized lengths
  3. Place the rhubarb, butter, orange zest, orange juice and sugar in to a 9 inch non-stick pan
  4. Gently heat the mixture and cook the rhubarb until just tender
  5. Meanwhile in bowl sieve the flour and baking powder together
  6. Using your fingertips rub the butter into the flour until it resembles breadcrumbs
  7. Add the two eggs and milk to form a loose batter
  8. Spoon this mixture over the rhubarb mixture in the pan
  9. Using a spatula gently smooth the cake mixture over the rhubarb with out disturbing the fruit
  10. Place on the middle shelf in the over for 30 mins, checking after approximately 25 mins
  11. Once out of the oven allow to cool for a few minutes before turning out on to a plate and allowing to cool completely

I like to serve this with a dusting of icing sugar and some lightly whipped cream. Alternatively it can be served warm with a scoop of ice cream.

