Beyond The Messy Kitchen – Apple Jam

For the past few weeks, I have been watching the apples on the trees in my garden turn bright red and I have started to get that itch. The one where I want to do something with them and not let them go to waste for another year.

Normally I say I will do something with them all but it never happens! This year though, with a bumper crop of apples, I was very good and actually did something with them! Besides from freezing loads to use later in the year, I also made some amazing pies. I am though most proud of my apple jam.

applejamdavidcorscadden2

After a lot of searching in books and online, I finally combined a few recipes and came up with this fool proof one. It was extremly simple to make and fairly quick to make. It is also great, if like me you have a load of apples that have fallen to the ground and got damaged. You can still use them with this recipe, once you just cut the damaged parts out.

Apple Jam

  • 3lb of Apple (quartered and de-cored leave skin on just remove blemishes)
  • 1 cup of water
  • Grated rind of 1 lemon
  • Juice of ½ lemon
  • 2 cups sugar

 Method

  1. Prepare apples. Once cut place in bowl of water and lemon juice to stop browning
  2. In food processor pulse the apple quarters in batches to a fine chop
  3. Put apples, water, lemon juice in large pot and bring to the boil
  4. Once boiling reduce heat and simmer for 15-20 mins (Until almost all liquid is gone)
  5. Bring back to the boil and add the sugar in stages stirring well between each addition and allowing to come back to the boil between additions.
  6. Once all the sugar is added, add the lemon rind and simmer for 20 mins until thickened
  7. Place into sterilzed jars and allow to cool

AppleJamDavidCorscadden

