Seedling Confusion

I was down the vegetable garden this week and was extremely excited to see seedlings emerging from the ground. It was a great sense of relief when I seen the green shoots starting to emerge above the ground.

Rocket Seedlings

Rocket Seedlings

You will understand my confusion however when I tried to think what did I plant here?! What is this growing here? I thought I planted you over there?! Yes you guessed it  I made the rookie mistake of thinking I would remember where I planted everything. I had planned to put markers in the ground to avoid a situation like this the following day but of course that never happened!

Luckily for me I follow some extremely clever people on twitter. I got great help from Dee of GreenSide Up and Gareth Austin who helped narrow down my mystery seedlings!

My confusion lead to Dee writing an extremely helpful blog post on her own blog aimed at helping people just like me to identify seedlings! Her number one tip PUT MARKERS IN THE GROUND!!! . Make sure to read her blog post for some great advice.

Photo from Greenside Up blog post on Seedling Identification

Photo from Greenside Up blog post on Seedling Identification

(Photo Credit)

 

