A Day Spent With Art and Plants

One of the highlights of 2012 for me was my many visits to the Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin. One of the best visits I paid to the gardens was in September when the gardens played host to Sculpture in Context. Sculpture in Context is an exhibition of art to raise awareness for artists and sculpture in areas other than a traditional gallery. The concept began in 1985 to bring quirky and thought provoking art to people in unusual settings.

For the past few years the exhibition has been held in the sprawling gardens of the National Botanic gardens, Glasnevin. In 2012 I managed to make it to the gardens and got to go on an adventure to find all the wonderful sculptures on display at the gardens.

Ahead of Sculpture in Context 2013 I decided to share some of my favourite pieces from last year’s exhibition.Sculpture in Context this year will be held from 5th September to 18th October. I would highlyΒ recommend everyone to go visit the gardens while the exhibition is on to enjoy the great mix of art and plants.Β 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

