Golden Girls Moment

On a recent trip to the Botanic Gardens, I had a Golden Girls moment when I walked into one of the palm houses.  For those of you who do not know who the Golden Girls are … FOR SHAME! However I will forgive you this once but make sure to check out the episode I have linked at the bottom of this post!

I say I had a Golden Girls moment because I stumbled across this great plant on my travels around the gardens. Tucked away in one corner of a palm house I found three great specimens of Strelitzia Reginae cv Humilis, commonly known as Bird of Paradise.

Strelitzia reginae - Bird of Paradise

Strelitzia reginae – Bird of Paradise

As a child I would watch the Golden Girls and marvel at these strange flowers, that the four ladies had in pots outside their front door. It was only a few years later that I learnt what the plant was and then a few years more that I seen one for the first time. These flowers I found recently are great specimens and the already vivid colours stood out even more amoungst the dark folliage of the palm house.

