May Delights

May has not even been here for a full week yet and I have already found some brilliant plant delights that have got the gardener in me very excited!

You may remember earlier this week, I talked about Cowslips and the fact my friends had a great display of them along their driveway. Well I finally managed to call out and get some more great photos to share with you all. I have really fallen in love with this increasingly rare flower! It is a great sight to see along a hedgerows. If you look very carefully to the right of the cowslip here, you can see some wild violas, unfortunately I can’t find the photos I took of them 😦

Cowslip

Cowslip

An other great plant I have come across in the past few days is bergenia. I have been walking past this particular plant for the past four years on the way to my bus home from college. Luckily on Friday I had my camera with me and managed to get a few photos when the plant was looking particularly great!

Bergenia

Bergenia

In UCD there is a great collection of crimson leaved trees, that were all planted in the 80’s. One of my alltime favourite trees on the campus isΒ Acer platanoides ‘Crimson King’. This particular tree has great wine coloured foliage and vivid yellow flowers in spring. The flowers have just started to emerge in the past few days and look great! If I had the room, I would love a small group of these trees in my own garden.

Acer platanoides 'Crimson King'

Acer platanoides ‘Crimson King’

If you ask me I think these were a great way to start my May plant adventures! Oh one more thing that May has brought is the tenth annual World Naked Gardening Day , So I guess Happy Naked Gardening to you all!!

World Naked Gardening Day

World Naked Gardening Day

 

