Castle Ruins and Flowers

Last week I put up a preview for this post and was meant to write the full post the following day … as you can see I got slightly distracted with writing my thesis and building a vegetable garden! I think it is time to share this story with you all though!

 
Last week I went for a walk in Donadea Woods, near my house in Kildare. I went just to clear my head and get some fresh air. Little did I know I would find such a delightful surprise adorning the walls of the crumbling castle.

Nature Trail at Donadea

Nature Trail at Donadea

The castle has fallen in to disrepair over the years and is at this stage just a preserved shell. As you can see from the photos the façade has stood the test of time, yet the interior is pretty much non-existent. It does however boast some great ivy growing in the main entrance.

Ivy growing in the entrance to the castle

Ivy growing in the entrance to the castle

 
I normally just glance up at the castle as I walk from the car park to the lake but this time something caught my eye. In one corner of the castle just below a window was a patch of purple. As I got close I noticed it was a patch of purple flowers growing from the brickwork.

Flowers growing on the castle

Flowers growing on the castle

As I looked around more I noticed it was dotted all over the castle, in great hanging sways in some parts I might add. The vivid purple flowers have a great contrast against the grey stonework. It was a great find, that I must admit cheered me up no ends to find. I think it is Aubrietas, but I could be mistaken. If anyone knows for definite let me know!

Flowers on a castle wall

Flowers on a castle wall

