Raised Beds with a Difference

To continue on the story behind my vegetable patch I wanted to share this project/experiment with you all.

My dad got me these great wooden boxes and I have been toying with what exactly to do with them for a while now! Finally, while I was in the swing of filling up my vegetable patch, I had a brainwave to turn them into raised planters. My only problem was that I did not really have enough topsoil to fill both of them up to the top with.

My lovely wooden boxes

My lovely wooden boxes

I was toying with just filling one up, then I remembered an idea I had read about a few years ago in a magazine. It involved placing grass sod upside down in a bed then covering it with newspaper and topping it up with topsoil. The idea is the sod will break down as will the newspaper. The newspaper is spread over the top toΒ suppress any grass that might start growing.

Sod laid on the bottom of the boxes

Sod laid on the bottom of the boxes

I of course had some grass sod piled in a corner from making my vegetable patch so I said I would give it a go! I laid the sod upside down in the bottom of the boxes and then covered them in newspaper.

Newspaper Layer

Newspaper Layer

Once all this was done, I filled the boxes up with topsoil.

Ready to plant

Ready to plant

Now the two boxes are filled up and all ready for plants to grow in them! I plan to use these for runner beans and some salad crops! I will keep you up to date about how it works and if it is worth trying!

