A Vegetable Patch is Born

Ever since I moved into this house with my family, I have had the desire to create a vegetable garden. I have been talking about it for close to five years now and it is finally happening! I have dabbled in vegetable growing since we moved in though. I have had great success growing peas and salad crops in containers but I have got to the stage where I need some beds to grow in!

After much debate about how and where to do it, I decided to do it down the very end of the garden. I also decided that I wanted to do raised beds and have one for vegetables with a separate one for some fruit bushes.

I bought the sleepers just after Christmas, laid it all out, and then played around with the position and sizes for a few weeks. Finally, I decided on the positioning and set them into the ground. Once I stripped the sod off , I dug the ground over and that is where the fun began.

Getting underway

Getting underway

I got the topsoil to fill the beds up with today. Now I should stress, I know it is not the best quality topsoil yet it is not the worst I have seen either. It has the odd bit of rubble at the bottom and a few roots throughout it but I was desperate and working on a shoestring budget. It was really the best I could do and I have to make the best of it. As it is not the best topsoil I won’t be giving the supplier an nice plug here! One thing I have learnt from this project is don’t just judge the topsoil from the first bit you see, really dig through it and see what it is really like!

My delivery of topsoil

My delivery of topsoil

 
Now that I have the topsoil in the beds the fun starts! I get to rush off and buy some seeds and start growing!! I really can’t wait to have my own vegetables growing down the end of the garden! I will of course keep you all up to date with all the happenings down in my veggie patch!

Just add seeds!

Just add seeds!

