A Bad Year for Blackberries

2012 was a terrible year for Blackberries, Rubus fruticosus. The poor weather meant there was not nearly as many fruit. The fruit that normally appears like blackened jewels on brambles that twist their way through hedgerows were not as numerous as normal. 

Blackberry, Rubus fruticosus

Blackberry, Rubus fruticosus

The poor weather meant the fruit did not set and those that did manage to start growing did not develop into the large fruit I normally would find while wandering around the countryside. Over the course of the summer I only managed to find one good patch of them in Castletown House, Co Kildare.

Blackberries were very scarce this year

Blackberries were very scarce this year

I am hoping that this year will be better and I might just manage to gather enough to make something with them! It is enough to say the ones I found last summer didn’t last long enough to even make it back to the car!

