Down on the Harbour and Childhood Memories

The perks of living in a small town along the Royal Canal are endless! Not just its general beauty but it has the ability to turn an ordinary Saturday into magical Saturday! Today my small town was visited by a fleet of boats from the Heritage Boat Association.

Boats on the harbour

Boats on the harbour

The fleet are traveling along the Royal Canal from Richmond Harbour on the River Shannon to the River Liffey in Dublin. Luckily for me I find myself living along the banks of the Royal Canal and so get to enjoy the boats stopping for the night.

Some more Heritage boats

Some more Heritage boats

There is always a great sense of excitement in the town when the locks and harbour are being used. It is even more exciting when the boats do not just pass through and they actually dock along the boardwalk for a time.

It may be the child inside me but I get very excited when I see boats! It may have been the hours I spent watching  Rosie and Jim on the T.V as a kid!! If you have not watched an episode of Rosie and Jim you have been missing out! I would highly recommend you watch the episode below!

 

