April Challenge – Treetastic

Today for my post as part of my April Challenge I wanted to share this photo I took of a tree in Powerscourt Garden.

I went there just before Easter and had a great but cold day exploring the gardens. While walking around the lake I came across this great tree. It is an Oak tree, Quercus petraea. It has the most amazing bark as you can see. Even in the photos you can get a sense of its textured bark.

Tree bark

Tree bark

It makes quite an impact on its surroundings even when it was still bare of leaves. It has a brilliant habit and hugs the side of the lake perfectly. Powerscourt is a great place to visit so make sure you do! Also make sure to call back here in the next few days for some big news!!

Oak, Quercus petraea

Oak, Quercus petraea

