Moss Attack

Has anyone ever taken the time to really look at moss?! It seems like a very strange question to be asking but have you really looked at it?! I am in the middle of a love affair with it at the moment.

Moss growing up a beech tree

Moss growing up a beech tree

I have found it growing in some strange and wonderful places in the last few weeks. I should stress I am not taking about the kind of moss that you normally find blocking drain pipes or covering your roof tiles. I am talking about the brilliant olive greens and neon hues you find growing on trees in the heart of forests.

Moss growing on tree branches

Moss growing on tree branches

 
While I was out on a cross forest adventure with my mother a few weeks ago I stumbled across quiet an interesting sight. Right in the middle of a clearing I found these young saplings that have become the best support system for moss to grow up. When down at eye level it is almost like looking out over an area of miniature Christmas trees except you can tell from even a great distance away that they are extremely light and fluffy.

My moss discovery

My moss discovery

 
Now some of you may think I am crazy to be talking with such passion about moss but I have really seen it in a new light and really love it!

