Soup Made from Weeds

I have grown up with my mam talking about nettle soup and in particular the nettle soup that my Gran use to make when my mam was younger. I have always wanted to try it as I have only had a hatred for nettles.

Nettles - Not just a weed

Nettles – Not just a weed

I have always hated them growing in my garden and hated them even more when I got stung as a child when I played too close to them. I must admit though having made the soup with them I have a new respect for them now.
Before I share the recipe for the soup with you it is important to share two words of advice with you. First only pick young fresh leaves, generally stay away from the darker coloured leaves. Secondly wear protective gloves when picking and washing the nettle leaves. The latter may seem obvious but I am just warning you!!

Nan’s Nettle Soup

Ingredients:

Tablespoon of rapeseed oil
150g fresh nettle leaves
2 medium sized potatoes
1 onion
2 pints of vegetable stock
Freshly ground black pepper and salt

Weeds in the Kitchen

Weeds in the Kitchen

Method:

1. Collect the nettle leaves the day you plan to cook the soup
2. Remove any woody stalks and wash the leaves carefully
3. Chop the onion and cut the potato into cubes
4. Heat the oil in a large pan
5. Cook the potato and onion over a low heat for 10 minutes or until soft and translucent
6. Pour in the stock and simmer for five minutes
7. Put in the nettle leaves and allow to simmer for a further five minutes
8. Blend the soup using a hand blender
9. Season and serve with crusty bread

Nettle Soup

Nettle Soup

