April Challenge – Nectarine Blossom

For this April blog post and the next few there will be a strong botanical feel to them!

I had a great excursion today to the National Botanic Gardens in Glasnevin Dublin. To me it is like going back to the mother land, I always leave this place full of inspiration and filled with excitement for horticulture. I have at least three full post that I plan to do with all the photos I managed to take in the short time I was there today. Watch this space for my adventures in the gardens.

For today I wanted to share with you all one discovery I made that was particularly spectacular. While in the walled vegetable garden I stumbled across this beautiful flower blossoming in a small greenhouse. The nectarine, Prunus persica var. nucipersica ‘Madame Gaillar’, is trained up against a wall in the house with a long bed full of salad and kale on the opposite side. The small pale pink flowers of the nectarine was a great surprise as I was not expecting anything as exciting when I walked through the door of the greenhouse.

I feel very lucky that I did actually venture into the greenhouse as if I did not I would have missed this great sight.

Prunus Persica

Prunus Persica

