Easter Tea with a Difference

I don’t know if this can even be called a recipe as it is so easy to make?!! It is one of the simplest desserts I have made in ages but is one of the ones I have been looking forward to making for the longest time! I have wanted to make Panna Cotta for ages and I think I have found the best recipe! It was so simple to make and took no time at all to get ready. Plus it has the added bonus of allowing you  to play with the softened gelatine for a while! (I may have played with it a bit too long!!)

Softened Leaf Gelatine

Softened Leaf Gelatine

I just wanted to make a plain one which was not too over powering as we would be eating it after Easter dinner. I decided to make a simple vanilla version and to serve it with some mixed berries to add some extra flavour and a splash of colour. The base of cream, sugar and gelatine will remain the same but the flavour is only as limited as your imagination! I think my next adventure with Panna Cotta will be a lemon version!

I had gathered all my ingredients when I realised I didn’t really have the right kind of moulds for them but then I had a brainwave. I decided serve it in the tea cups and I think it turned out really well! I got five cups out of this recipe but I was very generous with my portion sizes so really you should get six out of it!

I hope you enjoy and let me know if you try it out!

 

Vanilla Panna Cotta

 

Ingredients: 

1 litre of cream

2 teaspoons of vanilla essence

70 g Caster sugar 

6 sheets of leaf gelatine

Mixed berries

 

Method:

1. Place the leaf gelatine in a bowl of water to soften
2. Place sugar, vanilla and cream in a saucepan over a low heat
3. Warm the cream until the sugar has melted and then remove from heat
4. Take the softened gelatine from the water and squeeze to remove any excess
5. Put the gelatine into the cream and stir until dissolved
6. Allow the mixture to cool before pouring into dishes and place in the fridge to set
7. Once set , serve with a handful of mixed berries and a sprig of mint

 

Panna Cotta

Panna Cotta

