Nature on Fast Forward

About two weeks ago I went on a walk around college and decided I would take some photos of the large auburn buds of a Horse Chestnut tree. I really like these trees and there are some brilliant specimens in UCD. I’ve always had a sense of awe when it came to these trees, ever since I was a child and would play under a mature one in my Grandfathers garden. I decided that I would try and document all the different stages of the trees growth as a mini project for myself. To start I took photos of the buds with the plan to go back when the tree came into leaf and write a blog post about it then. Little did I know it would happen so quickly!

Horse Chestnut buds

Horse Chestnut buds

Horse Chestnut, Aesculus hippocastanum, is a brilliant deciduous tree which grows to 25 meters tall by about the same distance wide. I was surprised, as I was walking to my bus home, to see that the Horse Chestnut tree had burst into leaf. I had thought it would be at least another three weeks before I would go back to take more photos of the tree. Nature is really on fast forward at the moment. Luckily I had my camera with me and managed to get some photos of the newly emerged leaves to start my journey with this tree!

Horse Chestnut leaflets emerge

Horse Chestnut leaflets emerge

 

It is moments like this that remind me that nature does not wait for anyone it will move at its own pace. I better keep my wits about me as the tree will be flowering before I know it and I better be ready to get photos!

