A Love Affair with Hellebores

I don’t think spring could go by without me talking about hellebores and my love affair with them. What kind of gardener would I be if I didn’t share this with you??!

Hellebores in flower

Hellebores in flower

Hellebores, or as they are sometimes referred to as Winter Roses, are one my all-time favourite spring flowers. They are native to western and central Europe, as well as some parts of Asia, so can be found adding seasonal interest to gardens the world over. My favourite types are the single flower varieties, especially the neon green and crisp white flowering types. Although double and triple flower varieties are becoming increasingly popular in gardens, I am not a huge fan of them and crave the more traditional varieties for my own garden.

Helleborus Winter Beauty Pirouette

Helleborus Winter Beauty Pirouette

The herbaceous plants often remain evergreen offering great interest once the flowers have faded away. The leaves add great texture to flower beds throughout the year in shades of lime green to dark almost black hues. I have big plans to use hellebores in my own garden this year. Down the end of my garden there is an area shaded by a large Ash tree. Here I want to establish a woodland garden full of shade loving plants but in spring I want it to be awash with hellebores planted in sways and then under planted the area with spring bulbs. I think the hellebore above, Helleborus Winter Beauty Pirouette, would make a great addition to this area.

