Bull Island

Bull Island has to be one of my favourite places to go visit in Dublin. Located in Dublin Bay, this 5 Km long island is a registered nature reserve and a haven for wildlife watchers. The island is home to many feathered creatures such as Pale-bellied Brent Geese, Eurasian Curlews, Little Egrets and Little Terns. The island is also home to colonies of common seals and grey seals. I have been lucky enough on a few occasions to be on the island early enough to see them basking in the morning sun before they enter the water.

As you walk on to the island you walk over a saltmarsh which separates the island from the mainland. The saltmarsh and mudflats, which back it, are all covered at high tide. One of my favourite parts of a trip to Bull Island is as you walk to the island exploring  the banks on either side of the road. On my last trip there I was amazed by the sheer amount of different plants that are growing along there.

The Banks either side of the road on to Bull Island

The Banks either side of the road on to Bull Island

I thought I would share with you just some of the photos I took the last time I was there. It is a great lesson to keep your eyes peeled as you never know where you will find beauty and wonderful plants.

Bullisland6

Common Knapweed (Centaurea nigra)

Sea Carrot ( Daucus carota ssp. gummifer)

Sea Carrot ( Daucus carota ssp. gummifer)

Creeping Buttercup (Ranunculus repens )

Creeping Buttercup (Ranunculus repens )

Sweet Pea

Sweet Pea

Meadow Vetchling

Meadow Vetchling

Sea Mayweed

Sea Mayweed

Clover

Clover

