A Lesser Celandine Speckled Floor

Spring has only officially started a few days but yet again I have more sightings of native plants to report! This time, while I was out for a walk in the rare Irish sun, I found a woodland trail I had never notice before so of course I had to follow it to see where it went!Β 

View of a Church from woodland trail

View of a Church from woodland trail

Much to my delight on this trail not only did I get to enjoy beautiful views but I also stumbled across an interesting plant. The yellow flowers of the Lesser Celandine, Ficaria verna, erupt from the ground like fireworks here. The Lesser Celandine is one of the first perennial plants to start flowering in February and will continue to flower until the end of May.

Lesser Celandine

Lesser Celandine

The Buttercup like flower is a native plant to Europe, Western Asia and North Africa. The flowers are very interesting as they react to its climate, closing before rain showers and opening again during sunshine. The younger leaves of the plant are heart shaped with the older leaves becoming more similar to ivy leaves. The Lesser Celandine is quiet a beautiful plant in the dappled shade of trees and I can’t wait to discover more native plants on my adventures.

